Webinar – Covid-19. Supernational, national and regional responses. Building resilience through comparison of experiences

Cover GPN Webinar March 5th 2021

Participation is free

Registration is required here: https://www.globalpandemicnetwork.org/webinar

First session 
  • 03.30 – 7.30 EST (New York)
  • 08.30 – 12.30 GMT-UTC (London)
  • 09.30 – 13.30 CET (Rome, Paris, Madrid)
  • 10.30 – 14.30 EET (Athens, Tel Aviv)
  • 11.30 – 15.30 EAT (Kampala, Nairobi)
  • 14.00 – 18.00 IST (New Delhi)
  • 15.30 – 19.30 WIB (Jakarta)
  • 16.30 – 20.30 CST (Beijing, Taiwan)
Networking activities  
  • 08.30 – 09.30 EST (New York)
  • 13.30 – 14.30 GMT-UTC (London)
  • 14.30 – 15.30 CET (Rome, Paris, Madrid)
  • 15.30 – 16.30 EET (Athens, Tel Aviv)
  • 19.00 – 20.00 IST (New Delhi)
  • 20.30 – 21.30 WIB (Jakarta)
  • 21.30 – 22.30 CST (Beijing, Taiwan)
Second session
  • Friday March 5th 2021
  • 10.00 – 13.00 EST (New York)
  • 15.00 – 18.00 GMT-UTC (London)
  • 16.00 – 19.00 CET (Rome, Paris, Madrid)
  • 17.00 – 20.00 EET (Athens, Tel Aviv)
  • 18.00 – 21.00 EAT (Kampala, Nairobi)
  • 20.30 – 23.30 IST (New Delhi)
  • 22.00 – 01.00 WIB (Jakarta)
  • 23.00 – 02.00 CST (Beijing, Taiwan)

Francesco Adornato

Rector, University of Macerata

Rettore Università Macerata Francesco Adornato

Welcome Remarks - Francesco Adornato

Rector, University of Macerata

Emmanuele Pavolini

CONVEGNO LEGACOOP    CON RITA GHEDINI

Emmanuele Pavolini

Director, Department of Political Sciences, Communication and International Relations, University of Macerata

Gianluca Crispi

Gianluca-Crispi1

Gianluca Crispi

UN Habitat

Elisa Scotti

GPN Steering Committee, Director, Master in Administrative Science and Innovation in Public Administration, University of Macerata

PHOTO-2021-02-21-00-03-59 (1)

Opening address - Elisa Scotti

GPN Steering Committee, Director, Master in Administrative Science and Innovation in Public Administration, University of Macerata

Damien Short

GPN Steering Committee Director, Human Rights Consortium, University of London

Immagine1

Damien Short

GPN Steering Committee Director, Human Rights Consortium, University of London


Markus Thoma

Justice at the Austrian Supreme Administrative Court/Association of European Administrative Judges (AEAJ)

Thoma SW 262x350

Chair - Markus Thoma

Markus Thoma was first appointed in 1988 a judge at the regional court of Linz, where he adjudicated civil cases, and was also seconded to the Ministry of Justice, where he gained experience in the departments for penal cases and for the legislation and the management of courts and judicial staff. In 1991 he returned into the ordinary judiciary where he adjudicated civil cases at the Commercial District Court and the Commercial Regional Court
of Vienna. Since 2001 he is Justice at the Austrian (Supreme) Administrative Court where he has worked as reporting judge in the fields of migration and asylum, laws on public service and at present in the areas of taxes and customs. Aside his judicial work at courts Markus Thoma has trained judges in education, civil servants and expert witnesses at courts and has always been engaged in the representation of judges of the ordinary as well as of the administrative judiciary on the national and international
levels. He gathered insight into foreign judiciaries in several twinning projects in Eastern Europe and during an internship at Australian courts in autumn 2019. He is lecturer at the Sigmund Freud University in Vienna on the topics of constitution of
courts and procedural principles. Since 2020, he is one of the representatives for Austria in the Consultative Council of European Judges.


Qin Tianbao

Luojia Professor of Law Director, Research Institute of Environmental Law, Wuhan University

Immagine1

QIN Tianbao - Covid-19 response in Mainland China

Professor Qin Tianbao is a Changjiang Scholar and Luojia Distinguished Professor of Law, and serves as the Director of the Research Institute of Environmental Law (RIEL), Wuhan University and the Deputy Director of the Research Center of the Supreme Court of China on Environmental-related Cases. He is also Editor-in-Chief of the Chinese Journal of Environmental Law and a Member of the Compliance Committee of the Nagoya Protocol on ABS. Secretary-General of Chinese Society of Environment and Resources Law (CSERL) he was a Lead Author and Review Expert of the Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES). He is author of several books and more than 100 articles in these fields. He was Vice Dean for the School of Law, and was Deputy Chief Judge of Environmental Chamber of the Supreme Court of China (Mainland)


Anton Ming-Zhi GAO

Associate Professor, The Institute of Law for Science and Technology (ILST), National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

jyfk

Anton Ming-Zhi Gao - Legal measures against COVID-19 in Taiwan

PhD in Law, Institute of Environmental and Energy Law, K.U.Leuven, Belgium Anton received a master Degree (MA) from National Taiwan University and wrote a thesis on electricity liberalization in the EU, Germany, France, UK, US, California, Pennsylvania and Taiwan. He received another master Degree in energy and environmental law (LLM) from K.U. Leuven in July 2005. His main research focus is on energy and environmental law, including their interaction. He worked on several government-funded projects with an energy thinking tank, i.e. Taiwan Research Institute, in 2001-2004. In recent years he has published several articles and made several presentations on international renewable energy law, construction and demolition waste, energy liberalization & energy security, and European Directive on strategic environmental assessment (SEA)


Linda Yanti Sulistiawati

Associate Professor of Law in Universitas Gadjah Mada Senior Research Fellow at Asia Pacific Centre for Environmental Law (APCEL), National University of Singapore

Immagine

Linda Yanti Sulistiawati - Covid-19 response in Indonesia

Linda Yanti Sulistiawati, Senior Research Fellow at Asia Pacific Centre for Environmental Law, National University of Singapore, is an Associate Professor of Law in Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia, and an Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) lead author for Assessment Report 6, and has been involved in Indonesia’s climate negotiations.


Susana de la Sierra

Associate Professor of Administrative law, University Castilla-La Mancha

Immagine2

Susana de la Sierra - Covid-19 response in Spain

Susana de la Sierra (LL.M. Bayreuth, Ph.D. EUI, Florence) is an Administrative Law Associate Professor at the University of Castilla-La Mancha (Spain). She has been visiting scholar at various Universities, including Oxford and Columbia in New York (Fulbright EU-US Scholar). Her research interests include administrative justice, law & culture, the media and comparative law. The impact of digitalisation on rights and public institutions is now one of her main areas of work. She has served as Director General at the Ministry of Culture (2012-2014) as well as senior scientific advisor to the Spanish Supreme Court (2016-2019). In June 2020 she was appointed by the Spanish Government as a member of the Group of Experts to draft a Charter of Digital Rights for Spain. In the context of the pandemia, she has published and participated in various seminars dealing with the legal implications of the crisis.


Uday Shankar

Associate Professor of Law, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

gfkg

Uday Shankar - Covid-19 response in India

Prof. Uday Shankar is Associate Professor of Law at Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. He holds a PhD from University of Delhi. He was in the Global Intensive Programme for Young Leading Scholars by International Association of Constitutional Law (2018); he was Magdalene Schoch Fellowship, at Faculty of Law, University of Hamburg (2017). He was awarded fellowship by the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg, Germany (2008). His research areas are Constitutional Law; Socio-Economic Rights; Energy Law; Employment Law; Public Law and IP Interface.


Emmanuel Kasimbazi

Professor of Law Director, Environmental Centre at Makerere University, Kampala

jk

Emmanuel Kasimbazi - Covid-19 response in Uganda

Professor Emmanuel B Kasimbazi is a Professor of Law at the School of Law, Makerere University, and Kampala, Uganda.   He writes, teaches and advises governments and international organizations on environmental Law and Policy   He is an active member in the IUCN as a member of the Academy on Environmental Law and a member of the IUCN Commission on Environmental Law. He is a fellow of the Uganda National Academy of Sciences, the African Academy of Sciences and the World Academy of Sciences.  He was the Winner of the Scientist of the Year 2020 in Social Sciences / Law / Environment category awarded by the International Achievements Research Center based in Chicago, USA.


Ittai Bar-Siman-Tov

Associate Professor of Constitutional Law, Bar-Ilan University, Ramat-Gan

kdkhg

Ittai Bar-Siman-Tov - Covid-19 response in Israel

Dr. Ittai Bar-Siman-Tov is a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor), Co-Director of the dual degree program in law and political science, and Head of the BIU LawData Lab, at Bar Ilan University Faculty of Law. He is also General Editor of the international journal The Theory and Practice of Legislation, and founding Co-Chair of the Israeli Association of Legislation.


Paola Chirulli

Professor of Administrative Law, La Sapienza University of Rome

unnamed

CLOSING REMARKS FIRST SESSION- Paola Chirulli

Full Professor of Administrative Law at the Faculty of Economics, Sapienza University of Rome, where she currently teaches Competition Law and Market Regulation and Administrative Law. She has taught European Administrative Law, both in English and in Italian, Planning Law and Public Contract Law. She has published extensively in the field of Administrative Law and Administrative Justice, both Italian, European and comparative, public contracts, planning and environmental law. She is a practising lawyer.


Spyridon Flogatitis

Professor of Administrative Law, University of Athens; Director, European Public Law Organisation; Chair, Joint Appeals Board at IFAD

jhbflak

Spyridon Flogaitis - Chair

Full Professor of Administrative Law at the Law School of the University of Athens; Director of the European Public Law Organisation – EPLO. President of the Administrative Tribunal of EBRD.


E. Donald Elliott

Professor of Law (adjunct) at Yale Law School

djfhblkdhfc

E. Donald Elliott - Covid-19 response in the United States of America

E. Donald Elliott is Professor of Law (adjunct) at Yale Law School, a title given to an individual teaching at Yale Law School who holds or has held the rank of professor in any school at Yale University. He is a leading academic scholar, as well as practitioner, in the fields of administrative and environmental law. He is also a Distinguished Adjunct Professor at the Antonin Scalia Law School at George Mason University.  Elliott has been on the Yale Law faculty since 1981 and currently teaches courses in environmental law, conservative legal theory, energy law, administrative law and civil procedure.  He is the author or co-author of over 80 articles and seven books.  He is an elected member of the American Law Institute.

Ian Elliott

Chief resident in Orthopedics at Tulane University Medical Center in New Orleans, LA

kdhnaldk

Ian Elliott - Covid-19 response in the United States of America

Dr. Ian Donald Savage Elliott is a chief resident in Orthopedics at Tulane University Medical Center in New Orleans, LA. He has published extensively in Orthopedics, with over 40 publications and presentations. He is co-editor of “Orthopedics Today – Grand Rounds,” a reviewer for multiple orthopedic journals, and has been named one of the American Orthopedic Association (AOA) Emerging Leaders in Orthopedics. He is a former college All-American and international rugby league player and team physician for the professional rugby team the New Orleans Gold.


Fabio Bassan

Professor of International Law at the University of Roma Tre

download

Fabio Bassan - EU response to Covid-19

Fabio Bassan is Full Professor in International Law and European Union Law at Roma Tre University. ICSID Conciliator, his research mostly focuses on International Economic and Financial Law and European Union market regulation. He authored many books and articles and is in the Board of several journals


Steven Van Garsse

Professor of Administrative and Public Law, Hasselt University

ghf

Steven Van Garsse - Covid-19 response in Belgium

Steven Van Garsse is professor of administrative and public law in the Law faculty at Hasselt University. Before joining the University, he was in charge of the Flemish PPP Centre and involved in all their major Belgian PPP-projects. His research is focused on general administrative law, economic public law (public procurement, PPP, concessions, public domain, externalisation, privatisation) and urban law. Steven has authored numerous books and articles and is on the board of several journals. He is actively involved in the UNECE working party on PPP as vice chair of the bureau.

Matteo Fermeglia

Assistant Professor of International and European Environmental Law, Hasselt University

yukf

Matteo Fermeglia - Covid-19 response in Belgium

Matteo Fermeglia is Assistant professor of International and Environmental Law in the Law Faculty at Hasselt University. In 2017, he was a visiting scholar at Columbia Law School, where he collaborated with the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law. He has co-edited the book “Ecological Integrity in Science and Law” (Springer, 2020). He has (co-) authored 6 internationally peer-reviewed journal articles in the field of environmental and climate law, and was awarded the Raúl Estrada-Oyuela Award for Emerging Scholars in Climate Law in 2017.


Thomas Perroud

Professor of Public Law at University of Paris II Panthéon-Assas in Paris

djhfdl

Thomas Perroud - Covid-19 response in France

Thomas Perroud is Professor of Public Law at the Panthéon-Assas University. His research focuses on comparative public law and public economic law.  Graduated at the HEC and SciencesPo, he holds two PhDs in comparative public law from the University of Panthéon-Sorbonne (Paris I) and the Warwick School of Law. He was Deputy Director of the Comparative Administrative Law Programme at Yale Law School. He was a visiting professor at the Università degli Studi “Roma Tre” in 2019.


Cristina Fraenkel-Haeberle

Professor of Public Law, University of Administrative Sciences Speyer

_DSC3961

Cristina Fraenkel-Haeberle - Covid-19 response in Germany

Since 2016 Prof. Dr. Cristina Fraenkel-Haeberle coordinates the research programme “European Administrative Space” at the German Research Institute for Public Administration Speyer where she is also a professor for public law at the German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer, Germany. Her main research interests are in European and national administrative Law, university and environmental law as well as democracy studies.

Elena Buoso

Associate Professor of Administrative Law at the School of Law, University of Padua

djhfdlk

Elena Buoso - Covid-19 response in Germany

Prof. Elena Buoso is associate professor of Administrative Law at the School of Law in Padua. She has been visiting fellow in several Research Institutions (Max-Planck-Institute for comparative public Law in Heidelberg (2007-2008); Humboldt Universität zu Berlin (2009); University of Reading (2011), Universidad de Alicante (2019); visiting professor at the Julius Maximilian Universität, Würzburg (2015-16) and appointed professor at the Universität Innsbruck (2017-21). She is interested in administrative and constitutional law as well as in environmental, urban and digital law.


Yiannis Drossos

Professor Emeritus of Constitutional Law at the Law School of Athens University

jfhgkdsh

Yiannis Drossos - Covid-19 response in Greece

Yiannis Drossos is Professor Emeritus of Constitutional Law at the Law School of Athens University. The main field of his research and academic activity is Public law and European Union law. Member of the BoD of the EPLO, former Member of the Highest Special Court of Greece, Prof. Drossos is author of numerous books and articles in the field of his specialty. His last book “The flight of Icarus. European Legal Responses Resulting from the Financial Crisis” appeared last December, published by Hart Publishing.


Matteo Gnes

Professor of Administrative Law, Università di Urbino Carlo Bo, GPN Coordinator

djhfs

Matteo Gnes - Covid-19 response in Italy

Matteo Gnes (degree in Law, University of Rome “La Sapienza”, 1995; PhD, EUI, 2000, LL.M. EGPL, Athens, 1996): Full Professor of Administrative law, University of Urbino Carlo Bo, Italy; Fulbright Visiting Professor (Distinguished Lecturer Chair), Georgetown University of Washington D.C. (USA) (2007); Director of the Master in Administrative sciences, University of Urbino (2008-2015); Co-director of the Master in Administrative sciences and innovation in the public administration (MasterPA), Universities of Urbino and of Macerata (from 2015). Author of 4 books and more than 160 articles and essays in the field of public, administrative and European law. Current research interests are emergency powers and reform of the public administration.


Fabrizio Cafaggi

Judge at the Italian Council of State.

foto mia

Fabrizio Cafaggi - Rebalancing health and fundamental freedoms. Lessons from COVID litigation

Former professor of private law at University of Trento and professor of comparative law at the European University Institute. Coordinator of the EU judicial training project on fundamental rights and the right to an effective judicial remedy. Currently coordinator of the network of judges and scholars in the COVID 19 Litigation Project of Trento University and WHO


Giacinto Della Cananea

Professor of Administrative Law, Università Bocconi of Milan

fjkdshf

CLOSING REMARKS - Giacinto Della Cananea

Full professor of Administrative Law at the Bocconi University. He is principal investigator in the comparative research on European administrative laws, for which the European Research Council has awarded an advanced grant (2016-2022). He is also a member of the steering board of ReNEUAL, for which the EU has awarded the first prize in the Spinelli Outreach Research 2018. He has written several monographs, including Due Process of Law Beyond the State (Oxford University Press, 2016).


GPN Community Plans & Projects

Presentation of the GPN Journal from the managing editorial board

Giovanni Antonelli / European University Institute. La Statale University, Milan

Cristiana Lauri / La Sapienza University, Rome 

Maria Antonia Tigre / Pace University, New York

Anton Ming-Zhi Gao / National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

 

Open Round Table

Moderator: Maciej M. Sokołowski / University of Tokyo

GPN Coordinators

Ronald Car / University of Macerata

Martin Crook / University of Roehampton, London. Human Rights Consortium

Flaminia Aperio Bella / University of Roma Tre

Emma Guernaoui / University of Paris II

Maira Tito /  Nova University of Lisbon

Chiara Feliziani /  University of Macerata

Eduardo Parisi / La Statale University of Milan